Gundam AGE: Final Review

There’s always that one series I don’t want to write about, I finally finish it and I just want to put it away, but noooooo, I have to write about why I’m glad to see it done. Gundam AGE owes me about a year of my life, 3 arcs and a bulls#@t ending later and I want to repair my phone microwave to send myself a message to never start this series. Despite the few interesting characters and a galactic bromance (that was heartlessly killed off in the final battle), Gundam AGE really was only a giant waste of time.

The plot: what plot? You mean Flit’s lifelong desire to throw giant robots and his son/grandson at an ultimately unfulfilled attempt to commit genocide on a planetary scale? All because they killed the girl he would’ve married instead of the girl who followed him out into space and eventually bore his son (and my favorite space pirate). And then she tells him (nearly 100 years after the fact) that he should forgive the Vagan…that would’ve been helpful when he was coordinating a planet-wide war on these people.

The animation: never improved. Never reach a minimum level of quality for a series about fighting robots in space. And what was the deal with the junkyard-styled , awkwardly structured EXA-DB suits rendered in 3D animation towards the end? Nothing seemed to meet the standards of previous Gundam series, either in design or even concept.

The premise: That sins of our past come back to haunt us and that if you try to select the “best” humans to start a utopia, you’re gonna have a bad time. It’s not a particularly bad premise, if it weren’t so poorly executed. You don’t need 3 arcs to tell the story of one man’s blind racism towards a certain group of people that he one day saves and then becomes a hero.

You’re about 40 episodes too late, Kio…

I keep trying to come up with good points to be fair, but other than Asemu the space parent who left his family to fight the man, Fram Nara, and the universe’s greatest bromance cut short, there isn’t much to say. I think it’s impressive that Kio managed to actually get away with not killing Vagan soldiers, barring that one dickish commander, but it really didn’t matter or leave an impression because I still find X-Rounders to be horribly laughable and a stupid name. I hope to never have to go back to Gundam AGE for anything, much less re-watch it.

Final rating: 50 (Fram, Zeheart, and Asemu kept it from going too low)

Gundam AGE – BeldenOtaku’s Photobucket

4 thoughts on “Gundam AGE: Final Review

  1. “The animation: never improved. Never reach a minimum level of quality for a series about fighting robots in space.” ~ah that’s a disappointment…

    I placed this series on-hold since I got bored and annoyed of Flit. Although I do plan to finish it (but your post is pretty discouraging. lol). But then, I think that during the 3rd arc/generation (or whatever) some people say that it’s gotten pretty good? (if not good, at the very least better than Flit’s arc). ~any thoughts on this?

    • The 2nd and 3rd are better, but don’t really make for the bullshit Flit puts the whole story through (in my opinion, mind you. If you still want to give it a shot, by all means…)
      That being, up until the end, the previous 2 or 3 episodes actually got me excited (maybe I was just happy to see it ending…)

    • Some, particularly towards the end. But overall the animation for Gundam AGE was choppy, undefined, and generally cheaply done.
      A few good scenes doesn’t raise the bar of animation for a series of nearly 50 episodes, that cops out for 40 of them.

Leave a Reply

