The Anime Blogger Interrogation Game Olympics Championship

Also known as just “Anime Blogger Interrogation Game”… I was tagged by Chikorita157 to answer some questions, then post my own, tagging other bloggers in similar fashion. Other than being a convenient filler (too tired and lazy to write about anime), it seems like fun. So I’ll cut to the good stuff:

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Chikorita’s Questions:
1. Which anime from 2011 did you enjoy most?
A Channel…I don’t need no reason to enjoy (love) A Channel…but here’s a few.

2. Do you play video games? If so, what kinds of games do you play? Also, what consoles do you own?
I do play the video games. I mostly play Pokemon, but I also dabble in a varying degree of games. I’ve wasted more time than I care to admit playing Skyrim (without actually accomplishing anything), and I got tired of FPS multiplayer pretty quick. I still play with my friend (owns a PS3), but I have no interest in playing online with anyone else. I don’t have many games because my budgetary status won’t allow for them, but I do own a DSlite and a busted DS (to use for trading and migrating pokemon). I’m hoping to get a 3DS soon to play Black 2.

3. Do you currently study the Japanese language? If so, what method did you take? If not, why?
はい、わたしは日本語をべんきょうします。
I’m learning in school with a native-speaking teacher (one of my scariest/favoritest teachers). I just started Japanese III and will be soon studying kanji. I’m also the Vice President of my school’s Japanese club.

4. Who are your favorite Japanese singers/composers?
I have awful tastes when it comes to music, and my preferences don’t usually fall along artist or composer lines. But, I guess Aoi Yuki is really the only Japanese singer I consistently enjoy. My favorite song being either “Sugar Loop” or “Tokei Kanransha” (don’t make me choose). But I’ve also got some Supercell as well as various anime singles (even though it goes without saying).

5. How do you taste test a show?
It’s kinda weird how I gauge to watch a show or not. If I see good things, like in Nichijou’s case, I’ll try it. Nichijou massively surpassed my expectations from the few Youtube clipes I’d seen, and I regret not seeing the whole thing sooner. But there’s also a thing where if I think it’s overhyped, like Sword Art Online, I don’t want to try it. I feel like I can’t get a real opinion of it and I’ll only see “its awsume!!1!!”, and don’t want to touch it.

Now that you know just how horrible of a person I am now, I’ll hit up my questions for 5 “new” victims of the Interrogation.
1. Do you consider any single series unwatchable?
2. Is there a single series that spring-boarded you, per se, into a wider obsession with anime?
3. Name an anime/manga character (from any series) that most closely matches you in appearance (or in personality, if you want).
4. When you read other bloggers’ posts about a series you are also watching, if they post about an episode you have yet to see, do you read it, or do you avoid it until you’ve written your own post about it?
5. If you could be present at any point on the Earth, at any point in time, when and where would you go? Explain.

And the victims are:
Marthaurion @ Marth’s Anime Blog
Tsurugiarashix @ KaminariAnime
Animekritik @ Kritik der Animationskraft 
Feal87 @ EmptyBlue 
Chikorita157 @ Chikorita157’s Anime Blog (returning the tag)

And for added fun, if all 5 of these victims fulfill the Interrogation, I’ll answer my own questions as well.

12 thoughts on “The Anime Blogger Interrogation Game Olympics Championship

  1. Ow, I’ll answer them soon.

    It’s great to hear you’re studying Japanese. Kanji are tough but fun. And yes, Japanese teachers can be very frightening indeed…

  2. Pingback: Anime Blogger Interrogation Game « Kritik der Animationskraft

  3. 2. Although I own a lot of consoles, I spend a lot of time with handheld consoles since I can bring them anywhere. I spend a lot of time playing Pokemon (I had over 300 hours logged on my Pokemon Diamond and 280+ hours on White. Not sure about the other games). But yes, I have played the Japanese version of Pokemon Black 2 and it’s an improvement over the prequel because of the older Pokemon. Not too much of all the new ones though.

    Come to think of it, I had my DS Lite broke because of the hinge. Not much a problem since I got a DSi and then a 3DS

    3. I think most people learn it at school because self-studying takes a lot of motivation and constant practice. I think all languages do, although I got hang of the Japanese grammar relatively easy after practicing a few times. Basically finished everything in the elementary Japanese text book, although it had some lower intermediate level stuff. The challenge remains is the Kanji, but I’ll be tackling on that soon.

    But yes, playing Japanese games could help with vocabulary. Just have a Japanese dictionary app while you playing and look up the words you don’t know (also can help on using radicals in Kanji to look up characters). If you have a PSP or Vita, one can simply download the games by buying Japanese PSN points and buy the game since the console is region free. In some cases, it’s a few dollars cheaper than importing the physical copy plus shipping, but the selection is limited. But in general, reading any written Japanese material is a good way to use what you have learned because if you don’t use it, you will lose it.

    Aside from that, interesting responses. I will have the response to your questions in a few days and they will be on the same post.

    • Coolio, can’t wait :3

      As for the gaming, I just don’t have the money to spend for all the consoles and games, so I’m picky about what I do get. Pokemon is about the only thing I’ll always want.
      I’m starting kanji soon (although I already know a few). If I were a more proactive person, I’d play Japanese games to get better :3

      • I got a good amount of words from playing Pokemon Black 2 (I put them in a list so I can add them to the game vocabulary deck). The only problem with Pokemon is that there is no furigana… you can only choose kanji or kana, which makes it somewhat useless if you want to memorize the words with the Kanji. However, there are spinoff Pokemon games that have furigana such as Pokémon + Nobunaga’s Ambition. Not so sure about the other spinoffs… but yeah, you should broaden your horizon once you have money since there is a lot of Japanese games that didn’t made it to the US, especially the PSP as there is some games based off some Anime… Plus, a used PSP is relatively cheap to obtain ($60-80) and the games are pretty cheap, but not the Japanese ones of course.

        If you have a smartphone, definitely get a Japanese dictionary app. There should be some free ones out there.

        Aside for that, I will answer your questions in a few days.

        • I already have a few apps that I use, both on my Android and my iPod touch. I like using Kotoba! on my ipod as it lets me look up vocabulary, and can even show me stroke pattern clips drawing the kanji.

          And I can’t wait :3

  4. Pingback: AnimeKritik’s Interrogation Room: Uninvited Guest | NewAnimeThursday

  5. Answering here instead of a full post like I’ve done with the other tagging.🙂

    1. Do you consider any single series unwatchable?

    Yes, unwatchable for me if the series is in some “taboo” genres like yaoi and such.😐

    2. Is there a single series that spring-boarded you, per se, into a wider obsession with anime?

    mhn…not really. I always have moments when a series is in my heart, but after 1-2 months slowly become a memory.

    3. Name an anime/manga character (from any series) that most closely matches you in appearance (or in personality, if you want).

    Kyubey for both appearance and personality! :3

    4. When you read other bloggers’ posts about a series you are also watching, if they post about an episode you have yet to see, do you read it, or do you avoid it until you’ve written your own post about it?

    Avoid to read if I haven’t watched it already. Better avoid spoiler…

    5. If you could be present at any point on the Earth, at any point in time, when and where would you go? Explain.

    At my home in my time. I don’t like to travel (space or time).😛

  6. Thoughts: likes yuri, but calls “yaoi” taboo?…

    After reading #3…you sound cute, I bet you like making agreements. A very negotiable person :3

    Thanks for playing, feal, 3 down, 2 to go. :3

  7. my turn…
    1) I suppose i could technically watch anything…I guess there are a few things I avoid just based on principle.
    2) I’d say it was more of a time than a show. I’ve always been interested in anime…I just never really got into it until I reached college.
    3) It’s a bit arrogant to say I’m Lelouch-like, but I like to thing I do a good job of trying to be a lot like him. The answer you’d expected, really.
    4) I always wait until I watch the episode. I try to confirm my own interpretations rather than get a sense of what the episode will be. I don’t really care much about spoilers, but I just want to be able to comment and actually contribute something.
    5) Whenever the time machine is perfected…I want to see if my theory was right…also, gain the ability to travel through time myself.

Leave a Reply

