NewAnimeThursday: 1 Year of Doing Stuff

Fireworks to celebrate?

So it’s been a year already…kind of, the actual anniversary of when I started NewAnimeThursday is the 22nd of July, but this is closer to 50,000 views, and I feel like doing it now. It’s quite an odd idea, really, an anniversary post. Do I recount stats? (I heard bitches like statistics…) Or maybe the readers want me to pander and say how I couldn’t have gotten this far without their support (which is totally true, btw :3). Do I recount favorite experiences from the past year or would it be better to elaborate on what I’m looking forward to?…I have no clue, but here goes…

As far as stats go, though I’m not as popular as many other blogs, NewAnimeThursday’s growth has been steady and has a rate of increase that has been fairly constant. It also matches a prediction I made a few months ago regarding breaking 50,000 views by the 1 year anniversary. Whether or not the growth continues is really up to you, the readers. But growth isn’t the only measure of success for me. Recently I had a glorious loss to Kritik in the Aniblog Tourney (I have no qualms about losing to a top 16 blog), the results of which surpassed my best expectations. On a related note, this is all I’m going to post about concerning the Tourney.

To be honest, I’m writing this in a state of semi-disillusionment. It may be from summer lethargy, or outside stressors from school, or maybe I’m just running myself into the ground again. But current situations are making episodic postings quite tedious and unappealing, so I’m conflicted. I don’t want to stop following anime series season-to-season, and if I could, I’d like to continue writing about them episode-by-episode. But current internet connections are nearly tripling the time it takes me to write compared to back when I first started and when I was at school (I miss school). It’s almost too much of a pain just to get the new episodes to watch them. So I’ll go ahead and say that I’m expecting to not be as prompt with posting in the Summer 2012 season, and I’ll probably only write final reviews for the Spring 2012 series that I already haven’t do so for yet like Gakkatsu, and only occasionally post about continuing series like Accel World.

So before I start to sound like I’m just desperate for attention (or something like that), I’ll say thanks to any one who cares enough to read, follow, or comment. Here’s to another year of awesome stuff that I’ll do…hoping to really get on stuff once I get back to school and away from my life-sucking family. Now I crack a 2 liter of Dr. Pepper in celebration, and kick back for some time off. If I rebound enough, maybe an editorial or two by the time I get back to school. Additional note, speed draws aren’t happening until I either fix my tablet or get a new one…thanks relatives who don’t know how to treat other people’s property. :3

17 thoughts on “NewAnimeThursday: 1 Year of Doing Stuff

  1. Hmm…wasn’t aware that your blog was so close in age to my own…cool. Congrats on making it this far.

    Also, maybe you should find a library with wifi, download all the things during the weekend, then watch them a week late.

  2. Congrats on winning… I kind of understand how it feels having slow internet since I have been so used to Cable Internets for these years that using hotel internet when I’m vacation or surfing the net without 3G makes things pain in the butt. Considering that you live in a rural area, I can see the situation a lot worse (yes, the US needs to get it’s act together and get fast broadband in more areas… Japan and other Asian countries are already beating us).

    Of course, episodic blogging takes a lot of time and commitment. I’m surprised how I manage to make all these posts in a timely manner. Then again, my major isn’t exactly intensive and I usually have free time in between studying and homework. But anyways, good luck on your second year.

      • Thanks :3
        And yeah, American ISPs and the data network overall is pitiful. Local data providers where I live can’t even bury the wires they lay…so it seems to be more of a customer service problem than a technical problem.
        But it’s not like my parent’s are trying very hard to make the most out of the internet. I’ll just have to deal for another month or so. It doesn’t help that I’ve entered the first few phases of my re-occurring depressions…at least I’m not crippled this time :3
        I’ll definitely feel better when it doesn’t take all night to get new episodes (and my parents aren’t banging on my door for being up at 12:30…)

  3. Congrats on making it to one year and 50,000! Hopefully you can sort out a better internet connection soon, I know all too well how frustrating it can be to have bad internet.

  4. Congratulations!

    Along with some of the suggestions in the comments above me, maybe for a bit, when it comes to episodic posts you can just blog the episodes you really want to talk about. That way, it’ll be easier to not have to catch-up with posts? I don’t know…either way, I wish you all the best that you have another awesome year of blogging!

    • Yeah, that’s probably what I’ll end up doing, just forgetting about being punctual and write when I feel like it until it becomes less of a pain to get the connection to cooperate and not turn into a few hours of butthurt….and thanks :3

  5. I was quite estranged by the “anniversary” word because I remembered clearly that you make 1 year when I make 1 year and half. 😀

    Congratulations anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

