Senki Zesshou Symphogear: The New Madoka Magica?

Back with my second series for the Winter 2012 season, this one courtesy of feal87@EmptyBlue‘s recommendation, Senki Zesshou Symphogear. A mahou shoujo series centered around magical/techno powers derived from song (this will all just be speculation on what I’ve seen so far, if they actually explain it, I’ll just mention it as it comes up).

Main characters include Tsubasa Kazanari, a singer and possessor of the as-of-yet unexplained singing power who’s partner, Kanade Amo, died two years prior to the setting of the series, giving up her life to protect Hibiki Tachibana (voiced by Aoi Yuki, a big big BIG reason I decided to try Symphogear :3) after the “ultimate enemy to humanity”, Noise, attacked Tsubasa and Kanada’s, known then as “ZwieWing”, concert.

Now, Hibiki attends a musical academy with her childhood friend, Miku Kohinata, hoping to follow in the footsteps of the singer who saved her life.  One day, after briefly embarrassing herself in front of Tsubasa, Hibiki finds the city streets deserted, litered with the charred corpses of Noise victims.  Soon she and a young girl whom Hibiki carried on her back, were on the run from a horde of Noise. Cornered, she begins to sing the song she heard Kanade sing the day she was told to never accept death.  She too gains (what I’m just going to call) Symphogear powers, and she was looking very fierce before the credits started to roll (oh, why the tease ending? why?).

First episode impressions, the animation and character designs are solid, as well as the action scenes. I’m glad they stuck to 2D animation and not 3D (like IS: Infinite Stratos), the flow between slow and fast paced therefore goes more smoothly.  Being a music-oriented series, you can expect some serious song work, so long as they don’t turn every scene into a musical, and judging by the first episode, I don’t think I’ll have to worry about it.

While the “Noise” aren’t as fearsome-looking, in my opinion, as the witches in Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, their killing spree seems to be worth noting.  Aside from the kool-aid colored blood that likes to spew in bucket-loads, the first episode showed some gruesome attacks, though the dying gets toned down a bit when they’re simply changed into charred, non-human looking corpses.

I’m very excited for Senki Zesshou Symphogear and look forward to following the 13 episodes.  If all the endings tease me like this, then I’m going to need something serious to take my mind off wanting to watch the next episode. :3

Until next time,
– BeldenOtaku

4 thoughts on “Senki Zesshou Symphogear: The New Madoka Magica?

  1. I like the anime so far. But i’m not so sure if i’m gonna blog about it. It is definitely like Madoka Magica. Hopefully it will be good. I’m still thinking about blogging this because I might end up not having the time to blog about this. xD

    I like the concert song I suppose it’s the OP. I’m not so sure about them fighting and singing everytime, I kinda don’t like it a bit. I also don’t like the idea that the main character died in the first episode. Might still be alive but seriously… 😦

    • As far as singing while fighting, I’m going to hold judgement on it until they offer an explanation for why. If I like it, I’ll be behind it.
      I feel like Kanade will play a continued role in the series.

Leave a Reply

