Ramblings on the heart…

Hey minna,
back with a bit unusual goal in mind, something that’s been getting at me for awhile now.  If you’ve ever read my reviews before, I hope you’ll see the time I put into making a logical, evidence based judgement on series and shows I watch.  Making sure that, despite the conclusion, I have solid ground to base it on and back it up.

Which brings me to the ultimate review…anime itself. Why do I enjoy it so much? What is it about anime that makes me want to draw it so much? Why can it keep me up at night? What is it that makes me turn a mood around just at the revelation of a new episode? This has weighed heavily on me for quite some time…and I have a conclusion.

The conclusion is, I don’t know.  I’ve finally realized that, with some things, a person can’t take a logical path to understanding.  There is no reason or rhyme for my obsession with this Japanese specialty, no purely Socratic reasoning for my deep love of the characters, plot, designs,…everything really.  It’s something that only my heart truly understands.  My heart…is what drives me to anime.  Anime causes me to get excited in a heartbeat, and it is my heart that I must follow. Only when I can put my whole heart into something will I ever truly be happy despite the hardships or rewards.

You probably don’t know what I desire (or rather, what my heart desires) most.  I can rarely tell people because they usually won’t take me seriously.  I want to be an animator in Japan, I want to make anime for a living.  I want to be a part of this thing that drives my heart to such extremes.  I’ve finally come to this realization that I can’t understand, and I don’t plan on understanding why I desire this so.  All I can say is that I’ll continue to put my whole heart into what I do, whether it be reviewing the anime I love, or one day becoming part of the anime I love.  My heart is the key to my deepest pleasures in life, and it is following my heart that will lead me where I will most likely find my calling.

I would also like to thank everyone that reads and comments, I love checking my inbox in the morning and seeing that you have left comments on recent posts, and I love discussing series and episodes even more.  I’d especially like to thank feal87 and tsurugiarashix for all their support, you guys were there in the beginning and I feel like I should be calling you sempai for all the respect I have for you two.

Boldly we go, arm in arm, to futures better than we ever dream…

Until next time,
– BeldenOtaku

4 thoughts on “Ramblings on the heart…

  1. Thank you for the mention, but I actually have to thank you quite a bit myself. Made my own connection with anime somewhat stronger just by speaking with you. Continue keeping up the good work, bro.

Leave a Reply

