Gundam AGE: “The Power of AGE”

Hey minna,
back with a little redemption for the Fall 2011 series, Gundam AGE.  The newest Gundam series featuring a young boy who builds a working Gundam mobile suit and complementary combat system based on data he received from his mother just moments before her untimely death at the hands of the “Unknown Enemy” who plagues humanity’s space colonies and now threatens Filt’s new home of Nara.

The first episode left me greatly disappointed, I’m of the belief that the main gundam pilot should be a certified B.A., and you can’t be B.A….in a sky blue space suit.  Not to mention the lackluster plot basics compared to series like Gundam 00.  And don’t get me started on the coloring book style Gundam design and rather simplistic scheme of characters.

But episode two, admittedly, has some redeeming qualities.  The girl Flit saves on his way out of the colony with the Gundam adds a dash of mystery to this otherwise, overly obvious cast.  Once I got past the simpler designs, I actually came to appreciate the combat of the Gundam, especially after the AGE system was implemented.  But still not up to par, in my opinon, with other series.

I can’t explain it, the first episode put me off, but the second episode has me concerned for the fate of the space colony Nora….call me fickle if you will, but I like have hope this series can turn around. We’ll see…

Until next time,
– BeldenOtaku

2 thoughts on “Gundam AGE: “The Power of AGE”

Leave a Reply

