Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai: “There is no God in the Electric World”

Hey minna,
back to laugh at the “friend-making” tactics of the Neighbor’s Club in this week’s episode of the Fall 2011 series, Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai.  Though no new characters get introduced in this episode, we are treated to the first “friend-making” attempt by Yozora, gaming.

Yozora proposes that, since every teenager she’s seen has been playing, gaming is the key to making new friends. So the group each brings their own PSP to practice “socializing” in co-op mode of  a monster-type RPG.  I don’t have much to say about this other than obvious fanservice and is this what .hack would’ve looked like if it were more comedy-oriented?

The next day, the gang tries a different type of gaming, a “girl game” or dating sim (the point being to play the story of a guy winning over a girl in a game, also known as “completing a route” as there are multiple ends depending on who and how you play for).  The idea being that this game will better teach them social skills, Sena and Yozora quickly put this notion to bed, as they get socially inept to start, but then become…a little too good at the game, even going so far as to daydream themselves in the game-world, with Kodoka cross-dressing to complete the scenario.  Needless to say, this didn’t work out to help their “friend-making” skills either, Sena became so hooked that, in a single night, she played through all the routes of the game, game-binging definitely isn’t a good social trait.

The next episode also appears to be void of new characters, but full of fanservice (maybe too much without introducing the others, in my opinion).  The comedy is still fairly good and I’m loving the unique rivalry between Yozora and Sena, but I’m curious as to how new characters will affect the chemistry set up between the three.  Maybe there’s more to the next episode than meets the eyes, at least I certainly hope so.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


(Note: I’m going to have to cut down on the usual load of screen shots because I realized I’m burning through my allotted storage space, and it’s the 20+ pics per post that’s killing me.  So, unless I’m absolutely in love with a show, I guess I’ll stick to 5 pics max.)

Until next time,
– BeldenOtaku

8 thoughts on “Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai: “There is no God in the Electric World”

  1. I’m not really into this kind of fan service type anime but the second of this episode has some really good comedy in it i’m pretty sure i’ll keep watching more episodes. When the rest of the characters show up it might shift the dynamic between the three current characters a little but I think the three current characters will probably still have the most presence and screen time.

    • Yes, I am very much looking forward to the different situations new characters will bring to the club, but, like you, I feel this series will still be, centrally, about Kodoka, Yozora, and Sena…

  2. Yozora and Sena are so cute. Although, they won’t be making any new friends anytime soon with those sort of soical skills, lol. Literally busted out laughing when they agreed on the third choice. My mom nearly had to come in my room and check on me, since I was laughing so hard 😄

Leave a Reply

