Fall 2011 – Anime Hopefuls

Hey minna,
this is new to me, but I figure I should get to it. I’m taking a look at upcoming anime for the Fall 2011 season.  Which shows I’m excited to see, give a try, or just peek my interest. This is by no means a definite list of which shows I will or will not watch, given my time restraints, this is a best guess for which ones I’ll follow (but I can definitely be convinced to pick up shows I’ve not included). I’ll limit it to only a few for now, this is, I feel, the maximum I can handle given my schedule.

Working!! Season 2
I’ve recently started marathoning season 1, and I like what I’ve seen. I really enjoy comedies and this one has a classic setup, a seemingly normal setting, a family restaurant, but it’s employed by a medley of strange, yet funny characters that beg to be watched. I’m definitely looking forward to more Working!! and Season 2 gives me more of what I want.

Guilty Crown
This immediately made me think of Code Geass, and I’m all in for it.  Looks to have lots of potential with the only limiting factor being that it’s only 12 episodes.  I’m curious as to whether or not this series will try for the same deeper themes that circulated through Code Geass, but, even if it doesn’t, looks like a nice, clever plot with great designs.
Quick synopsis:   The story takes place in Tokyo in 2039. After the outbreak of an unidentified virus “Lost Christmas” in 2029, Japan has been controlled by a multi-nation organization GHQ. Ohma Shu is a 17 year old boy, who has a psychic power in his right hand. He can use the power “Ability of King” to extract tools or weapons from his friends. He has been avoiding making troubles for others but his life has changed when he met a girl Yuzuriha Inori, one of the members of a resistance guerrilla “Undertaker”.

Gundam AGE
One of my favorite anime of all time was Gundam 00, so I try to give every Gundam series a chance (though somewhere, deep down, I know there’s no matching 00). Gundam AGE doesn’t seem to have the same production qualities as 00, but I’m giving it a try.
In A.G. 101, an unknown enemy (UE) named “GAFRAN” suddenly attacks a colony. In A.G. 108, seven year old Flit Asuno lost his mother when UE attacked his colony. His mother left him a memory unit “AGE” which contained data of an ancient mobile suit. In A.G. 114, Flit completes AGE and counterattacks against GAFRANs.

Sinryaku!? Ika Musume
I’ve seen a few episodes of this series and am planning on marathoning the rest soon, this season is a continuation of the first season. It’s a funny comedy so far, and I’m fairly certain I’ll be following this very soon.

Here’s a jpeg of all the upcoming series including OVAs and continuations…
Until next time,
– BeldenOtaku

4 thoughts on “Fall 2011 – Anime Hopefuls

Leave a Reply

