Ikoku Meiro no Croisée

Let’s start off with a new anime from the Summer 2011 season, Ikoku Meiro no Croisée.  I first started watching off the recommendation of  a friend, but am disappointed…that I didn’t find this series sooner.  I love the more laid back storylines of anime like this. The characters are lively right out of the gate, especially Yune, one of the sweetest characters I’ve seen this season, and Claude, a young, French metal-worker with a few things to learn about how to deal with people socially.

While currently 3 episodes in, the story so far is already set up to seemingly be a struggle between the lower class family of misfits, Yune’s new family, and the upper class business tycoons who seem to have no sense for the closeness other family’s share. Though that’s just my guess. And also a story of two cultures colliding and the comedic situations that ensue (I love watching Claude’s reaction to Yune’s strange Japanese customs, such as bowing and expecting a warm breakfast).

Paris, in my opinion, has never looked more beautiful, the animation is top notch and, if for nothing else, one could simply enjoy viewing this series, it’s that well drawn.  The transfer from manga to anime is also high caliber, both, in my humble opinion, receive top honors for artwork.

I recommend this series to anyone, like me, who enjoys family fun type anime with characters you’ll wish were a part of your family.  Yune has a cuteness that won’t soon be bested by another, and so long as the animation stays as beautiful as it has in the first 3 episodes, I’ll have an anime to never forget on my hands.

-BeldenOtaku :3

Ikoku Meiro no Croisee

4 thoughts on “Ikoku Meiro no Croisée

  1. My favorite show of the season..well the third anyway. And actually. the French is accurate for the narration, so it is not pretentious at all-even though it is from a Japanese VA. I have two years of it, so I know, lol.

Leave a Reply

